The Hanneys Home  > Diary  > Notices


... what's happening


Sat 3rd Mar 6.45pm Wantage & Grove Lions
Venue: Grove Village Hall
Cash Bingo. Doors open 6.45pm, eyes down 7.30pm. Raffle and Refreshments.

Mon 5th 7.45pm Hanney Gardening Club
Venue: Hanney War Memorial Hall
'Early Spring Flowering Perennials' a talk by Rosy Hardy

Fri 16th 7.30pm Quiz Night
Venue: St James School
8pm start. Bar, raffle and snacks. £3 per person, 6 people max in a team. Book your place Kate Thomas Profits go to St James CE Primary School.

Sat 17th Mar Hanney Flood Group working party
See website for more information

Sat 17th Mar 10am - 2pm CRUK Table Top Sale
Venue: Hanney War Memorial Hall
Cancer Research table top sale & car boot.

Sat 17th Mar Live Music
Venue: Royal British Legion
'Mustang' live 60/70's music

Thurs 22nd Mar 2.30pm Senior Citizens 
Venue: Hanney War Memorial Hall
A talk by 'Oxford Museum Service' with a mystery box

Sat 24th Mar Millenium Woodlands Maintenance Group
Contact Paul Sayer 868146 or for details

Sat 24th Mar 7pm Vale Chairman's Charity Quiz
Venue: Hanney War Memorial Hall
Quix starts 7.30pm. Tickets £10 each to include buffet. Teams max of 6 people. Profits to Children's Air Ambulance. To register or 01235 422082 by 9 March.

Sat 24th Mar 7pm Wantage Male Voice Choir Annual Concert
Venue: The Beacon, Wantage
Tickets £10 available from The Beacon, Portway, Wantage, OX12 9BX, Brett's Pharmacy, Millbrook Square, Grove. Enquiries 01235 768249

Tues 27th Mar 8pm Hanney History Group
Venue: Hanney War Memorial Hall
'Lost Villages of Oxfordshire' a talk by Deborah Hayter

Tues 27th Mar Vale Museum History Quiz
Details on website

Thurs 29th Mar St James School Term 4 ends

Fri 30th Mar Good Friday Community Shop Closed

Sat 31st Mar Community Shop open 9am - 1pm only


... and next month

Mon 2nd Apr Easter Monday Community Shop Closed

Mon 16th Apr St James School Term 5 starts

Sat 21st Apr 9.30pm Annual Hanney Litter Pick

Sat 28th Apr Wantage Big Band gig Village Hall

... and further ahead 


Sat 19th May 7.30pm 'A Medley for May' recital in music and word at St James Church featuring Bershire Baroque

16th - 26th Aug A visit to our twin town 'Seesen' in Germany

Sat 22nd Sept Michaelmas Fayre

Sun 11th Nov Rememberance Sunday


Local Links

Useful links to other web sites in and around The Hanneys.


Public transport

Stagecoach, Thames Travel and RH Buses operate a regular services to and from East Hanney, destinations include; Abingdon, Chilton, Marcham, Wantage, Grove, Cumnor, Oxford, Didcot and Milton Park.



Parish councils for Easn & West Hanney and links to regional government


Local area

A local map detailing the streets and house names in the two villages.

Local map

Telling Tales

Telling Tales is a book by Angela Cousins about the recollections of the villagers of East and West Hanney.